Senator Galvez in the Library of Parliament
Senator Rosa Galvez


Hello and welcome,

This site contains a collection of my interventions, initiatives, publications, and reflections related to my work at the Senate of Canada, my ongoing role as a researcher and professor at University Laval, and my previous work as an environmental engineering consultant.

My role at the Senate, since appointment in 2016, is to represent the cultural and regional interests of Quebec and to apply my specific expertise to Senate functions including the scrutiny of legislation and committee studies on topics relevant to Canadians. I pride myself on the sense of ethics, independence, and that I bring to these tasks each day.

If you have any questions, concerns, or comments please reach out to my office.

Sincerely,
Rosa


Senator Rosa Galvez, originally from Peru, studied at McGill University where she obtained a doctorate in environmental engineering. She has served as a consulting engineering in the private sector as well as long-standing professor of engineering at Laval University where she was also Chair of the department from 2011 to 2016 when she was appointed to the Senate by Prime Minister Trudeau. Her work in the Senate, where she represents the people of Quebec as an Independent Senator, focuses on strengthening environmental protection, gender issues and income equality, and transparency in the government.





Address: 138 East Block, Ottawa, ON K1A 0A4
Telephone: 613-996-2210
Fax: 613-996-2208
Email: rosa.galvez@sen.parl.gc.ca




Latest News

Op-ed

Climate change is here to stay: let’s build forward better and safely sail the storm

October 21, 2020

Speech

Speech on Bill C-4 (COVID-19 Emergency Measures)

October 02, 2020

Interview

In conversation: Canadians must keep up the pressure for green recovery, Sen. Rosa Galvez says

August 09, 2020

Op-ed

Canada also has an environmental racism problem

July 08, 2020



Priorities

Evidence-Based Decision-Making

Evidence-Based Decision Making

Social Inequality

Social Inequality

Gender Inequality

Gender Inequality

Ethics and Accountability

Ethics and Accountability

Climate Change

Climate Change

Cooperation

Cooperation

Senator Rosa Galvez
Sénatrice Rosa Galvez


Bonjour et bienvenue,

Ce site contient une collection de mes interventions, initiatives, publications et réflexions liées à mon travail au Sénat du Canada, mon rôle continu en tant que chercheur et professeur à l'Université Laval, et mon travail précédent en tant que consultant en génie de l'environnement.

Mon rôle au Sénat, depuis ma nomination en 2016, est de représenter les intérêts culturels et régionaux du Québec et d'appliquer mon expertise spécifique aux fonctions du Sénat, y compris l'examen de la législation et les études de comité sur des sujets pertinents pour les Canadiens. Je suis fier du sens de l'éthique, de l'indépendance et que j'apporte à ces tâches chaque jour.

Si vous avez des questions, des préoccupations ou des commentaires, veuillez contacter mon bureau.

Cordialement,
Rosa


La sénatrice Rosa Galvez, originaire du Pérou, a étudié à l'Université McGill où elle a obtenu un doctorat en génie de l'environnement. Elle a été ingénieur-conseil dans le secteur privé ainsi que professeure de génie de longue date à l'Université Laval où elle a également été présidente du département de 2011 à 2016 lorsqu'elle a été nommée au Sénat par le premier ministre Trudeau. Son travail au Sénat, où elle représente la population du Québec en tant que sénatrice indépendante, se concentre sur le renforcement de la protection de l'environnement, les questions de genre et l'égalité des revenus, et la transparence au sein du gouvernement.





Address: 138, Édifice de l’est, Ottawa, ON K1A 0A4
Téléphone: 613-996-2210
Fax: 613-996-2208
Courriel: rosa.galvez@sen.parl.gc.ca




COVID-19

Se propulser vers l’avant : Une relance propre et solidaire après la pandémie de la COVID-19

November 10, 2020

Op-ed

Réduire les émissions ou éliminer les énergies fossiles? Comprendre le piège carbone au Canada

October 29, 2020

Press-Release

Réponse officielle de l’honorable sénatrice Rosa Galvez au Discours du Trône

September 23, 2020

Statement

Déclaration sur le Journée mondiale de l’environnement

June 25, 2020



Priorités

Evidence-Based Decision-Making
Ethics and Accountability
Ethics and Accountability
Climate Change
Climate Change

Prise de décision fondée sur des preuves

Inégalité des genres

Éthique et responsabilité

Changement climatique

La coopération